December 07, 2012
Thanks to KISS News for this review and all photos.

Here's a detailed review from the actual product: The new "Casablanca Singles 1974 - 1982" Box Set.

It is available on vinyl and on CD and contains 29 singles (26 of them with a picture sleeve). The Vinyl Box is actually the one with the higher collectible value, but it is nice to have a CD version as well, although those singles have never been released on the CD format back then.

First of all: those Box Sets look awesome. They are very well done. This isn't just a cheap re-release like most other "Greatest Hits" albums these days. This is a high quality product.

They come in a very strong box with a 3-D effect cover. They come sealed and they are pretty heavy. The front has a cut out KISS Logo with flames in the background. Below the logo there is an engraved metal plate saying "The Casablanca Singles 1974 - 1982 Limited Edition". Unfortunately they are not numbered, however only 2.500 copies worldwide have been made of each format.

The Box can be opened on the side. The covers are not exactly identical to the original artwork. A new copyright info has been added on each vinyl single cover, and the paper is very thick, almost like a cardboard sleeve. The label itself is done in its original style, but not absolutely identical. It has a new 2012 dated copyright info on it and the time stated might differ slightly to the time stated on the original label. However, it is the same version. The singles come on heavy vinyl, the CDs are black on the back and the front looks like a label.

The 4 solo singles do come on coloured vinyl and with a mask. Unfortunately the masks are not cut out like the original ones, but still nice. The masks inside the CDs seem to be the same maks as the ones that come with the vinyl, just folded differently.

A nice booklet comes also with the Box with details on each single and some nice photos as well.

It is safe to say the Box Set will increase in value once they sell out, especially the Vinyl Box. The Japanese CD re-releases, which also came out in a box a few years ago are selling for hundrets of Dollars these days.

The suggested retail price for the CD Box is about $ 180,- in the US and about € 180,- in Europe, the vinyl retail price is about $ 270,- in the US and about € 250,- in Europe.

For some reason the Vinyl Box Set is still available for just 154,99 Euros here at Amazon Italy, much cheaper than anywhere else. This is definately an investment, you can't go wrong getting one for that price! If you order from outside the EU, VAT will not apply and you will get it even cheaper than that! The CD version is available for about the same price through Amazon USA or Amazon Germany. The Box Set has just been released in the US and will be available in Europe shortly.

Here is a list of all the singles:

1. Nothin' To Lose / Love Theme From KISS
2. Kissin' Time / Nothin' To Lose
3. Strutter / 100,000 Years
4. Let Me Go, Rock 'N' Roll / Hotter Than Hell (Germany sleeve)
5. Rock And Roll All Nite / Getaway (Holland sleeve)
6. C'mon And Love Me / Getaway (Japan sleeve)
7. Rock And Roll All Nite (live) / Rock And Roll All Nite (Germany sleeve)
8. Shout It Out Loud / Sweet Pain (Japan sleeve)
9. Flaming Youth / God Of Thunder (U.S. sleeve)
10. Detroit Rock City / Beth (Japan sleeve)
11. Beth / Detroit Rock City (Germany sleeve)
12. Hard Luck Woman / Mr. Speed (Germany sleeve)
13. Calling Dr. Love / Take Me (Germany sleeve)
14. Christeen Sixteen / Shock Me (France sleeve)
15. Love Gun / Hooligan (Sweden sleeve)
16. Shout It Out Loud (live) / Nothin' To Lose (live) (Germany sleeve)
17. Rocket Ride / Tomorrow And Tonight (live) (Germany sleeve)
18. Strutter '78 / Shock Me (Germany sleeve)
19. Hold Me, Touch Me / Goodbye - Paul Stanley (U.K. sleeve / Purple vinyl) + mask
20. New York Groove / Snow Blind - Ace Frehley (U.K. sleeve / Blue vinyl) + mask
21. Radioactive / See You In Your Dreams - Gene Simmons (U.K. sleeve / Red vinyl) + mask
22. Don't You Let Me Down / Hooked On Rock 'N' Roll - Peter Criss (Germany sleeve)
23. You Matter To Me / Hooked On Rock 'N' Roll - Peter Criss (U.K. sleeve / Green vinyl) + mask
24. I Was Made For Lovin' You / Hard Times (Germany sleeve)
25. Sure Know Something / Dirty Livin' (Germany sleeve)
26. Shandi / She's So European (Holland sleeve)
27. Tomorrow / Naked City (Japan sleeve)
28. A World Without Heroes / Dark Light (Spain sleeve)
29. I Love It Loud / Danger (U.S. sleeve)